Shameless Inspiration| IKEA

About a week ago, I had the pleasure of going to IKEA with my husband.  I’ve done IKEA a million times.  I don’t go through the showroom area, I come with a list of exactly what I need and cut through the checkout line section directly to the shopping area.  Believe it or not, I can get in and out of there in under 20 min. IF the checkout lines move quickly.

This was not the case on this particular visit.

I had my list and I knew exactly what I wanted but when I started to cut through the checkout area, Jason was like, wait!  why are we going THAT way?  Let’s go this way.  So, on this visit I had a drink in the cafeteria, sat on some sofas, checked out the finish on different entertainment centers, felt some of the rugs, and even played with some of the toys in the children’s department.  I think we were there for 2 hours….

Even though I would’ve been happy to avoid the entire upstairs all together, I was glad I didn’t.  IKEA has some great stuff.  And it’s not like I don’t know that, but seeing it in person rather than online is always a good refresher.  Now don’t get me wrong, IKEA isn’t always quality, but it’s like Target, you still love it because it’s fun…and sometimes fun beats out quality because it’s not necessarily junk either.

While we were in the kids section, I spotted this great mobile that is actually a new item.

mobileIt’s adorable!…the balloons and little animals.  You can’t go wrong!  Plus, it’s only like $10!  Thank you, IKEA!

It totally inspired me to design a fun gender-neutral nursery to share with you and see if you were inspired as much as I was.  What do you think?!

Nursery Design Board with labels

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Some of the items I used for the design are from IKEA but the rest vary.  I love it!

Oh, and if you’re wondering, this is how the end of the trip to IKEA played out…my husband standing on the cart, holding onto the hood of my jacket and letting me pull him around.  Classy, right. 🙂

photo(17)

jenna signature

One thought on “Shameless Inspiration| IKEA

  1. Awww…..I love your Ikea story! I have the same MO when I go there, but sometimes I like to take my time. I love your gender neutral nursery and am going to share it with a friend who has decided not to find out the gender before delivery. Love the picture of you and Jason!
    Hugs,
    Lorraine

Leave a Reply

