DIY Fun| LOVE

Since it’s Valentines Day, it seems appropriate to post something related to love.  While I enjoy this sweet holiday and typically celebrate with my hubby, I don’t always do a lot of decorating for it.  This year, however, I put up something that works for Valentines but will last all year too!

I’ve been wanting to put some giant zinc letters like these from Anthropologie above our master bed for a while but could never find exactly what I wanted in person and didn’t ever bite the bullet and pay for shipping said giant letters.

zinc letters

A while back, I found a few different tutorials for how to make them…all of which seemed very easy and much less expensive than ordering custom ones.  So, I went for it.  It was super simple, cost about $25, and turned out fabulous!  

I used the 23.5″ tall, paper mache letters that came from Joann’s and cost about $6 each (with a 40% off coupon).

paper mache letters

Then, I painted them with Martha Stewart’s metallic craft paint in Sterling (color number 32128) from Michael’s.  Each letter took 2-3 coats (be sure to let each coat dry before adding another).  I think each bottle is around $1.25, so it’s less than $1 after using a coupon.  1 bottle covers 3 letters completely, so I had to buy a second bottle for the 4th letter.

paint

Here’s the finished product.  What do you think?  Definitely makes a statement, right?!

LOVE4

LOVE2

Happy Valentine’s Day!

jenna signature

One thought on “DIY Fun| LOVE

Leave a Reply

