Benches are the Best!

When we moved into our house, I was determined to get a bench.  They were “all-the-rage” at the time and I just “needed” one.  I was shocked at the high price of benches and couldn’t seem to find any that were a decent size at a decent price.  I’m really weird about shopping for things…either I’ll take months and months to find the perfect one, or I’ll just buy the first one I see because I’m too impatient to wait.  Either way, I make for an interesting shopper–just ask my husband. 🙂 

Anyway, back to benches…  My sister-in-law and I decided to check out the local antique market one weekend and hit the jackpot on benches.  There were tons, but all for a little more than I wanted to pay.  We finally stopped at one booth that had a great bench with a not-so-great price–$150.  I really liked it, but knew that I couldn’t justify paying so much.  Luckily, while were were browsing around the booth, the owner mentioned that everything was 50% off today!  That made the bench $75, which was a little more feasible.  Being the annoying shopper that I am, I still wondered if I could find a better deal, so I dragged my sister-in-law around to a few more booths until we realized, that we weren’t going to find a better bench for a better price.  I made my purchase, some how fit the thing in the backseat of my sister’s Honda, and were off.  Since our bed doesn’t have a headboard or foot-board, the bench was a great finishing touch to the end of the bed.  It also added seating in our master bedroom, which is always ideal to have.

Here is our wonderful bench:
 I loved the distressed look of it, and even the bright green color, so I didn’t change a thing about it.
Here are some other great benches.
(all of the following images are via Apartment Therapy)
You can also create a bench out of two ottomans, add a cushion to a wooden or iron bench to soften it, or get one with additional storage.  They’re stylish and functional.  A must for every home!

Leave a Reply

