Creative Closets: Organization at its Best

                                                Images via Real Simple                                   

Does this stress you out?  Yes!  If you know me personally, you know that I’m obsessed with organization–it like.. thrills me.  Totally weird, I know…Anyway, regardless of my sick obsession, you know that even the most unorganized person can admit that there are benefits to a tidy place.  

   
To me, one of the most difficult places to keep tidy is the closet.  This is probably because it’s easy to close the doors and hide the disaster.  On top of that, it’s just for storage, right?…not for decoration, so it’s easy to justify a lack of time spent on keeping it straight.  Alas! Closet organization (well, really just organization in general..) is totally necessary.

For starters, the whole “it’s just for storage” thing is one of the biggest reasons an organized closet is in order.  How many people can truly say that they feel that they have ample storage in their home?  Not me.  No, DEFINITELY not  me.  The best way to get the most use of space, any space, is to keep it organized, and since the closet is where you store all of that stuff that you supposedly don’t have enough room for elsewhere, why not get the most use of that space?!  Get it?!

So at this point you’re like, “Ok! Ok! I get it, I need to get organized, but how?!” ….Precisely the reason for this post. šŸ™‚

We’ve been living in our house for close to three years now, and I’ve tried my hand at multiple organizational methods in all of our closets.  But, since we’ve outgrown our house (or at least I feel like we have), and we can’t move because the wonderful housing market won’t allow it, I’ve come to grips with the fact that I’d better settle in for a little while longer–and figure out this storage issue.  So…closet systems, here we come.  šŸ™‚  (Believe me, the honey-do list never ends for my hubby)  Closet systems aren’t the least expensive but, to me, they are the cleanest-looking, best/ most versatile use of closet space that there is.

We’ve priced out a few options–Lowes, Home Depot, Closets by Design, Easy Closets, IKEA… and we landed on IKEA.  For the smaller closets, they really make it easy.  If you want to design your closet at the store, an IKEA employee will help you figure out the best option for your closet, and then, when you’re done, they simply print the items that you’ll need on a glorified shopping list for you to locate and purchase!  You can also do it from home with their PAX Planner, if you prefer. 

If you don’t have the money to invest in a closet system like this, though.

There are plenty of other creative, inexpensive ways to organize your closet–regardless of the size and amount of junk piled in it!  Here are some options for you to think about while you do your spring cleaning.

Those sweater organizers are super handy for any kind of closet organization…not just sweaters.
Baskets and boxes do the trick too!  They hide unattractive items and, if they have lids they are easily stacked, they can be stylish and compact.
Don’t forget to use the door for storage space.

Add shelving!  Most closets can have a least two levels of shelving.  If you have a little half-wall or corner area, add some small shelves there too!

Shoe cubes can be used for more than just shoes–don’t limit yourself.  The possibilities are endless.
Don’t forget to add some style to your closet–throw a rug in there.

                                                                          Rubbermaid

3 thoughts on “Creative Closets: Organization at its Best

  1. Jenna,I have found that I looooove your blog…good job. This post made my day however! Seeing as you have spent many hours organizing and cleaning my closet. Haha, you will be proud to know, while not perfect, it is waaay better these days. I make my bed every morning and I put my clothes away folded and in their "spot" every time I do laundry now. Instead of throwing things in there. It's true too…it makes me feel better and more relaxed at the end of the day. So thanks for all the time you spent doing it until I figured out how to take care of it myself!Kirbie

Leave a Reply

